ARTBA honors HNTB’s Paul Yarossi with George S. Bartlett Award

Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to highway progress

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Sept. 18, 2023) – HNTB’s Paul Yarossi, PE, was presented with the prestigious George S. Bartlett Award by the American Road & Transportation Builders Association at its 2023 ARTBA National Convention in La Jolla, California, last week. The annual award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to highway progress.

Yarossi serves as a director on HNTB’s board of directors and has been with the firm for five decades.

“On behalf of the employee-owners of HNTB, I’d like to congratulate Paul on this tremendous honor and thank him for his tireless service to our industry,” said Rob Slimp, PE, HNTB chairman and CEO. “The Bartlett Award is a fitting tribute for a man who’s done so much to advance the cause of America’s infrastructure.”

Yarossi was selected by a Board of Award composed of the president of American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, the chair of the ARTBA, and the chair of the Transportation Research Board’s executive committee. He is the first person in HNTB’s history to be honored with the award.

The award was established in 1931 by a group of friends of George S. Bartlett to perpetuate the spirit of friendship and helpfulness that he brought to his work in the highway field. Bartlett, who ARTBA describes as “the greatest single influence on the use of concrete roads in the United States” was an advocate for concrete roads and worked with the University of Portland Cement Company and the Wane County Road Commission where modern road construction was born in the early 1900s.

Yarossi is active in the AEC industry and is previously served as the ARTBA Foundation chairman and as chairman of ARTBA from 2011-2012. In addition to leadership roles within ARTBA, Yarossi has served on the executive committee of the Design Professionals Coalition and the Council on Competitiveness, and as a member of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Let’s Rebuild America Leadership Council.